It was founded by Lipovans at the beginning of the 19th century; the first documentary attestation is from 1826. Although at its beginnings it was a small village ( hamlet ), the settlement has grown and become, at the end of 19-th century, an important fishing center in Danube Delta area.
Nowadays it has the biggest community of fishermen in Romania, and it has the most modern fish processing factory in the country and Eastern Europe.
Jurilovca is also a touristic center. At about 15 km across the Goloviţa Lake is Gura Portiţei, a beach resort at Black Sea. You can reach there by little vessel and by boat. Another touristic attractions are Argamum Citadel and Doloşman Cape.
Entire area is a part of Danube Delta Biosphere Reservation.
The Lipovans are Russians by ethnicity and Old Believers Orthodox by confession. This confession is the result of Nikonian Reform. In 1652, Nikon, the Patriarch of Russian Orthodox Church, initiated a religious reform which had in view adaptation of Russian Church at the rest of the Orthodox Churches, in fact a formal reform.
The result was the division of Russian society in two: Nikonians, those who accepted the Reform, and Starovers (Old Believers), those who did not accept the Reform. The last ones, being chased, emigrated outside Russia, a part of them arriving on Romanian territory, north of Moldavia and Dobruja.
Constanţa (historical names: Tomis, Greek: Κωνστάντια or Konstantia, Turkish: Köstence, Bulgarian: Кюстенджа) is the oldest living city in Romania, founded around 600 BC.
The city of Constanța, fifth largest in Romania, is part of a group of seven roughly equal-size cities which rank after Bucharest, Romania’s capital.
The Constanţa metropolitan area was founded in 2007 and comprises 14 localities located at a maximum distance of 30 km (19 mi) from the city and, with 446,595 inhabitants, is the second largest metropolitan area in Romania, after Bucharest.
Balchik (Bulgarian: Балчик; Turkish: Balçık; Greek: Κρουνοι, Krounoi, Διονυσοπολις, Dionysopolis; Romanian: Balcic) is a Black Sea coastal town and seaside resort in the Southern Dobruja area of northeastern Bulgaria. It is located in Dobrich Oblast and is 42 km northeast of Varna.
The town sprawls scenically along hilly terraces descending from the Dobruja plateau to the sea. The ancient Greek colony of Krounoi in Moesia (also known as Dionysopolis, after Dionysus), later a Greek-Byzantine fortress, stood on the site of an older Thracian settlement.
Under the Ottoman Empire, the town came to be known with its present name, which perhaps derived from a Gagauz word meaning „small town” (as opposed to the „large town” of Varna). Another opinion is that its actual name derived from Balik’s name.
After the liberation of Bulgaria, Balchik developed as centre of a rich agricultural region, wheat-exporting port, and district (okoliya) town, and later, as a major tourist destination with the beachfront resort of Albena to its south.
The ethnic composition gradually changed from mostly Gagauz and Tatar/Turkish to predominantly Bulgarian. However, the town retains a sizable Turkish minority, and a Ottoman mosque remains to serve the Muslim minority.
Between 1913-1916 and 1919-1940, Balchik was part of Romania.
The town is the site of Marie’s Oriental villa, the place where her heart was kept, in accordance with her last wishes, until 1940 (when the Treaty of Craiova awarded the region back to Bulgaria).
It was then moved to Romania. Today, the Balchik Palace and the adjacent Balchik Botanical Garden are the town’s most popular landmarks. Currently, three 18-hole golf courses are being developed around town, two designed by Gary Player and one by Ian Woosnam.
Tutrakan (Bulgarian: Тутракан, Romanian: Turtucaia) is a town in northeastern Bulgaria, part of Silistra Province. It is situated on the right bank of the Danube opposite the Romanian town of Olteniţa in the very west of Southern Dobruja, 58 km east of Rousse and 62 km west of Silistra.
The town was founded by the Ancient Romans in the end of the first half of the 1st century under the name Transmarisca. The settlement was part of the Roman military boundary in the 1st and 3rd century and reached its apogee in the 4th century, when, under the personal management of Diocletian, it was made one of the largest strongholds of the Danubian limes.
The ancient town and fortress were destroyed in the beginning of the 7th century and the modern town carrying its present name emerged in the end of the century, remaining a military centre through the Middle Ages as part of the Bulgarian Empire, which was conquered by the Ottomans in the late 14th century.
Tutrakan was liberated from Ottoman rule during the Russo-Turkish War of 1877-78 by Russians to become part of the Kingdom of Bulgaria. After the Second Balkan War, it was incorporated, along with all of Southern Dobruja, in Romania until 1940, when the pre-World War II Treaty of Craiova returned the territory to Bulgaria.
During World War I, the town, then part of Romania, was the site of the important Battle of Tutrakan during which Central Powers forces defeated decisively the Romanian Army.