Slatina (România)

For bigger size click on the map

Slatina is the capital city of Olt county, Romania, on the river Olt.

Population (2002): 79,171

The town of Slatina was first mentioned on January 20, 1368 in an official document issued by Vladislav I Vlaicu, Prince of Wallachia. The document stated that merchants from the Transylvanian city of Braşov would not pay customs when passing through Slatina. The word Slatina is of Slavic origin, stemming from Slam-tina, „salted land” or „salty water”; a small minority promotes the theory that the term originates in the Latin „Salatina”.

One of the oldest private businesses in Romania is the Slatina-based pastry shop La atletul albanez („The Albanian Athlete”).

Notable natives

Source: Wikipedia

Travel journal

Ok… We must recognize… We can’t stay without traveling somewhere… 😀 It passed a couple of days and again, another location… We are definitely addicted of knowing new places…

As usually before this type of escape we had council, we took into consideration many locations. We have always a list with places to visit. We checked the weather news because it comes the autumn and the time is not appropriate to go, for example, to a mountain zone. So, we decided to choose an urban destination, where it doesn’t matter if it rains or if the weather is capricious. We went to Slatina, Olt’s county capital city.

Maybe you are asking yourself what we are going to visit in a place like this, apparently uninteresting. Find out that in this city it is the oldest confectionary from country, owned by an Albanian family stabilized in Romania for 300 years. It said that they have been making to more tasty ice-cream in our country and we went to check out 😀

Following the Romanian saying “who wake up early in the morning arrives far”, we get up around half past six and at 7:55 we had the personal train that left us in Piteşti. As usually we arrived lately at Basarab station this time, but as we are lucky, we catch the train. The ticket’s price was 12 lei. We arrived in Piteşti after two hours. Here we changed the train. After we bought tickets (from Piteşti to Slatina 10 lei at personal train), we went in the back of the station to have a tea because it was pretty cold. At 11:20 we were in the second train running. After other two hours we were there.

Firstly we decided about the train that would get us back to Bucharest. We bought tickets; this time for the whole distance, in this way was cheaper: 20 lei from Slatina to Bucharest. After solving the return’s details we went to the center part of the city trying to find the famous confectionary. It took us some time to found it, but asking some inhabitants we arrived. There is an old small building having inside some fridges to keep the sweets. At the beginning we bought only bragă (boza) and Romanian halviţă (halva) that were really tasty.

We wanted to try all house’s specialties, so we bought citronade and ice-cream too. In deed the ice-cream was really delicious… The building’s walls was covered with pieces from the newspaper about the confectionary, photos with famous people that visited the place, images with cakes, visitor’s impressions. After finishing eating and drinking we started to visit the old center. Walking down the streets we fortuitously arrived to the regional history museum. Unfortunately we hadn’t enough time to see all the collections because the time runs and we needed to hurry up to the station to catch the train. (At 16:45)

On the road we slept being tired and didn’t have the enthusiasm that we had in the morning. We arrived in Piteşti (18.50), we changed the train and at 21:50 we were back.

Inside the train P9023 from Bucureşti to Piteşti (Romanian car made by Astra)

Inside train P9015 (second floor) from Piteşti to Slatina. Romanian car made by Astra in Arad

The train P9015 in Slatina Railway Station

Railway Station

Slatina, my love 😛

Old t-shirts :)))))

Forbiden for big trucks and carts 😀


Small waterfall

A.I.Cuza Boulevard near the Railway Station

OLTtv 🙂

Monument for the glory of soldiers from Slatina who fight in WWII between 1941 and 1945

Intersection on A.I.Cuza Boulevard

Reconditioned blocks

The Headquarter of the Prefecture Olt offices in administration of the County Council Olt

County Library "Ion Minulescu"

The Center

This park on the valley split New Town constructed by communists from the Old Town which is down, near Olt River

"Hope Fountain" in the Center

The old shopwindow from "Atletul Albanez"

The Albanian family Memish has been in Slatina for 300 years and they sell Ottoman products since more than 100 years in the city

Old and nice

Photos and articles from newspapers with famous people who ate and drank here

The price of ice-cream is 2, 3 and 4 LEI...

Cold Boza and Citronade with just 1 LEU per glass (0.23 EURO) 🙂

Bottles with Bragă (Boza, also Bosa) and Citronade. The price for one bottle of 2L was 8 LEI (almost 2 euro)

Dan Puric was one of the customers

The famous confectionery "La atletul albanez" (The Albanian Athlete)

Nice old street

Council of the Olt County

A little shop in left...

Renewed building


Sad blue...

Lipscani Street 🙂

The majority of the buildings from the Old Town are historical monuments

The City Council wants to get funds to remake the Old Town

Street in the Old Town

In this block (before was house) was born Eugen Ionesco (November 26, 1909 – March 28, 1994) was a Romanian playwright and dramatist, and one of the foremost playwrights of the Theatre of the Absurd.

Eugen Ionesco Park is near to the Old Town (Eugen Ionescu in Romanian)

Love is with Us 🙂

Gusher fountain

The statue of Eugen Ionescu in the park with the same name

Administrative Palace of Olt County where is the County Museum

Schedule at County Museum

Mogoșoaia (România)

Click on the map for more informations

Mogoşoaia is a commune in the west of Ilfov County, Romania, composed of a single village, Mogoşoaia.

Population (2002)[1] 5,232

Mogoşoaia Palace is situated about 10 kilometres from Bucharest, Romania. It was built between 1698-1702 by Constantin Brâncoveanu in what is called the Romanian Renaissance style or Brâncovenesc style, a combination of Venetian and Ottoman elements. The palace bears the name of the widow of the Romanian boyar Mogoş, who owned the land it was built on. The Palace was to a large extent rebuilt in the 1920s by Marthe Bibesco.

The Palace had been given to Marthe by her husband, George Bibesco, who later also deeded the land to her. She spent all her wealth from the many books she wrote in its reconstruction and it became the meeting place for politicians and international high society, a quiet retreat during the growing turmoil of the 1930s. Prince George died in 1941 and was buried in the small, white 1688 church on the grounds of the Palace.

The Palace is now a popular tourist destination, but although the grounds and gardens are beautiful, the interior of the palace itself is under reconstruction and presently houses a museum and art gallery. (Muzeul de Artă Brâncovenească)

During the second world war, Prince Antoine Bibesco (a cousin of George Bibesco) and his wife Elizabeth Bibesco, refused to flee the country despite their outspoken anti-fascist opinions. Elizabeth spent considerable time during these years visiting Marthe Bibesco at Mogosoaia and when Elizabeth died of pneumonia on April 7, 1945 she was buried in the Bibesco family vault on the grounds of Mogoşoaia. It may surprise visitors to see her grave here with its poignant epitaph in English – „My soul has gained the freedom of the night.” Neither Elizabeth Bibesco’s husband, Antoine, nor George Bibesco’s wife, Marthe, could be buried beside them, as they both died during the Communist regime.

In 2008 the Romanian gothic rock band Inopia produced a video of their song „Epitaph”, filmed entirely at Mogosoaia. The long medievalist composition is based on Elizabeth Bibesco’s epitaph.

In 2010 the Balkan Go Championship took place at Mogosoaia, being broadcasted by EuroGoTV to hundreds of fans watching the stream and following the games on the KGS Go Server.

Source: Wikipedia

Travel journal

It was this type of spontan short trip. 🙂 We were planning to go home and we arrived at  almost 10 km of Bucharest. We went at the north station and firstlly I said to take any train in any direction, but after „family council” 🙂 we stand the verdict: destination Mogosoaia. The train ticket was pretty cheap, around 1.5 lei, 14 kilometres, time: almost half an our.

With smiles on our faces we went in the train. It was an old dirty personal train, we were hanged on the window making photos and films. It came the porter, a strange man that was kidding with everyone, I thought he was drunk :D. He told us that it’s not so easy to arrive by train at Brancoveanu’s castle, because it’s pretty far. And now the adventure it’s starting 🙂

At last we saw the writing on the table : MOGOSOAIA. It was almost free field beside the train station. We asked about the castle and we found out that we have to go by foot something like two kilometres. It was a dusted country road and, as a bonus, a hot autumn day. It was a little bit difficil to arrive because we didn’t know exactly the road and nobody was there. We found a house with a man that was drinking at the enter 🙂 He and his wife told us how to arrive and we recharged our water reserve. 🙂 After almost an hour of walk and ask people about the road, we finally arrived, of course being exhausted.

We enter the park, we passed after the fortificated walls, and here we are, in the front of the castle. It wasn’t as I was expecting… It’s a small and coquettish building with 18th century perfume :). The complex includes also a church and Martha Bibescu’s hot houses plus other buildings for guest.

After we explored carefully every corner, after we made a hundred photos, we went back searching a easier way to Bucharest. This time we choose a mini-bus. It was full of all types of people, but we had the big advantage to arrive fast, without dusted roads, hot sun and foot-walk. It was more expensive then the train was, we paid for one ticket 3.5 lei. It doesn’t matter, it matter that we were back exhausted and everything we wanted was a good sleep 🙂

You can find this building outside the Palace, just near to the entrance

The guide panel with the complex

The main alley

A small part from the garden yard in the front of the watch-tower

An old icon on the entrance wall of the St.George's Church

The painting from the upper part of the front verandah

Saint George depicted as the patron of the church

The main entrance through the watch-tower (Gate House)

The watch-tower, raised before 1702, when the palace was finish. The watch-tower was restored in 1930 and in 1980

Saint George Church, erected by Constantine Brâncoveanu in 1688 which was decorated with frescoes in 1705


Cross with two-headed eagle symbol of the Cantacuzinos

The outside garden

The wall and the Brancovan kitchen (cuhnia)

The lake behind Palace

The Room of the Princely Council

The Conference Center (a former d'Elchingen villa) - (17th century, rebuilt 1927 - 1936), it currently hosts 2 conference rooms (having a capacity of 50 places, respectively 75 places) a restaurant - 120 places and 16 residence rooms - 25 places.

Cuhnia and the Gate House from the watch-tower

In the watch-tower

Watch-tower from The Court of Honor

The Conference Center again

Cuhnia - the former princely kitchen is now a place for exhibitions. It was built between 1681 and 1702. Its ventilation furnaces were restored in 1965

The N. Bibescu Hot Houses - a French studio - 1890. Currently, they are used for growing flowers and as an art studio for children. Restored in 2002

A Toyota jeep near the The Conference Center 🙂

The Palace - finished in September 1702 by Constantin Brancoveanu for his second son, Ştefan. Currently, the Palace is the host of the Aula Tradition Museum (Founded in 2000), namely the donation made by Liana and Dan Nasta, a compared art collection comprising approximately 300 items, its ground floor rooms and the annexes thus hosting annually approximately 10 temporary, thematic or contemporary art exhibitions.

The Stairs of Honour inside of Palace. The space is dedicated to Voivode Constantin Basarab Brancoveanu /Constantin Bessarab the Brancovan/ (1688-1714), the author of a synthesis, in a Romanian tradition spirit, of Eastern andWestern origin elements. The ruler is depicted in Varini Favorini's engraving, as Prince of the Holy (Western) Roman Empire and of theWallachians, and in that of Pietro Uberti's, made after the voivode and his four sons had been beheaded in Constantinople. The coats of arms of both the Basarabs /Bessarabs/ and Cantacuzinos /Cantacuzenes/, the Persian "shah-in-shah" carpet, decorated with royal symbols, complete the display.

The Room of Kilims. The kilims are hand-woven textiles used as wall hangings and floor or furniture coverings. These flat weaves are made in a very similar technique as the West-European tapestries - that is why they have often adorned Romanian Lands' palaces and manors. As for the kilims decorating small-town and country houses, they are woven by hostesses themselves. Martha Bibescu ordered that the two-room apartment having once belonged to Constantin Brancoveanu's wife be changed into what she called "The Throne Hall." It is here that the Wallachian (Oltenian included) and Moldavian kilims are displayed, each geographic area preserving its design and composition originality. Romanian kilims use for wool colouring vegetal dyes.

The main lobby from which you can exit in the balcony from the lake

The Room of the Princely Chancellery. This place, dedicated to inner and foreign affairs, to recording and keeping important documents, statal transactions and concluded treaties, a seat for envoys and interpreters, houses maps, official papers (deeds) and chancellery insignia. The two gospels, the tryodion and the coats of arms with Christian symbols are placed in the vicinity of engravings showing the main actors of the Ottoman Porte at the beginning of the 18th century. A velvet table covering embroidered with voivode's monogram in Cyrillic letters and, on the right wall, the portrait of Constantin Brancoveanu's family, Nora Steriadi's textile version made after the votive picture at Hurezi Monastery, try to render the atmosphere. In Martha Bibescu's time, this ceremonial space was used as concert hall and housed formal parties and fastuous balls.

The entrance into The Room of the Princely Chancellery

The inside stairs

Voivode's throne is replaced by an 1860 princely armchair taken from the church of Potlogi. Del Chiaro speaks about the three steps of the throne in his History of Wallachia. The back of the armchair, which is gilt-thread embroidered, shows the princely eagle framed by two laurel branches. Chair sovereignty is underlined by the scarlet hangings bearing country's Arms in a golded border.

Bucharest (România)

Bucharest (Romanian: București) is the capital, industrial, cultural, and financial centre of Romania. It is the largest city in Romania, located in the southeast of the country, and lies on the banks of the Dâmboviţa River.

Bucharest was first mentioned in documents as early as 1459. Since then it has gone through a variety of changes, becoming the state capital of Romania in 1862 and steadily consolidating its position as the centre of the Romanian mass media, culture and arts. Its eclectic architecture is a mix of historical (neo-classical), interbellum (Bauhaus and Art Deco), Communist-era and modern. In the period between the two World Wars, the city’s elegant architecture and the sophistication of its elite earned Bucharest the nickname of the „Little Paris of the East” (Micul Paris). Although many buildings and districts in the historic centre were damaged or destroyed by war, earthquakes and Nicolae Ceaușescu‘s program of systematization, many survived. In recent years, the city has been experiencing an economic and cultural boom.

According to January 1, 2009 official estimates, Bucharest proper has a population of 1,944,367. The urban area extends beyond the limits of Bucharest proper and has a population of 2 million people. Adding the satellite towns around the urban area, the metropolitan area of Bucharest has a population of 2.15 million people. According to unofficial data, the population is more than 3 million. Bucharest is the 6th largest city in the European Union by population within city limits.

Economically, Bucharest is the most prosperous city in Romania and is one of the main industrial centres and transportation hubs of Eastern Europe. The city has a broad range of convention facilities, educational facilities, cultural venues, shopping arcades and recreational areas.

The city proper is administratively known as the Municipality of Bucharest (Municipiul București), and has the same administrative level as a county, being further subdivided into six sectors.

Source: Wikipedia

Această prezentare necesită JavaScript.