Sighişoara (România)

Click on the map for more details

Click on the map for more details

Sighişoara (German: Schäßburg; Hungarian: Segesvár; Latin: Castrum Sex) is a city and municipality on the Târnava Mare River in Mureş County, Romania.

Located in the historic region Transylvania, Sighişoara has a population of 32,287 (2002).

Sights

Sighişoara is a popular tourist destination, due to its well-preserved walled old town. The landmark of the city is the Clock Tower, a 64m high tower built in 1556. It is today a museum of history.

Other interesting sights are:

  • Sighişoara Citadel – a 12th Century Saxon edifice, is the historic center of the city. Still occupied, the citadel is listed as a World Heritage Site.
  • Clock Tower – Built in 1360 and standing at 60 meters tall atop the citadel hill. Inside is a museum that finishes in a great view from the top.
  • Weapon Museum – next to Vlad’s birthplace. Very small, but it contains an interesting selection of medieval weapons (swords, arrows, etc.).
  • Covered Staircase – a very old stone staircase with a wooden roof along the whole span. This leads up to the Church on the Hill and the cemetery.
  • Church on the Hill – contains many frescoes and a crypt. Built on the location of the Roman fort. Close to the cemetery on the side of the hill, which contains many German tombstones.
  • Bust of Vlad Tepes – Located around the corner from his birthplace, within sight of the Clock Tower.

Famous residents

Source: Wikipedia

Orthodox church from the city

Orthodox church from the city

Clock Tower - Built in 1360 and standing at 60 meters tall atop the citadel hill. Inside is a museum that finishes in a great view from the top.

Clock Tower - Built in 1360 and standing at 60 meters tall atop the citadel hill. Inside is a museum that finishes in a great view from the top.

The museum

The museum

A photo from the tower

A photo from the tower

A view with the city

A view with the city

Other view with medieval houses

Other view with medieval houses

The hill inside the citadel

The hill inside the citadel

The best restaurant in the citadel (waiters were wearing medieval clothes)

The best restaurant in the citadel (waiters were wearing medieval clothes)

Church on the Hill - contains many frescoes and a crypt. Built on the location of the Roman fort. Close to the cemetery on the side of the hill, which contains many German tombstones.

Church on the Hill - contains many frescoes and a crypt. Built on the location of the Roman fort. Close to the cemetery on the side of the hill, which contains many German tombstones.

The panel at the entrance into the cemetery

The panel at the entrance into the cemetery

The cemetery

The cemetery

Some crypts

Some crypts

Covered Staircase - a very old stone staircase with a wooden roof along the whole span. This leads up to the Church on the Hill and the cemetery.

Covered Staircase - a very old stone staircase with a wooden roof along the whole span. This leads up to the Church on the Hill and the cemetery.

A good shop with folkloric souvenirs from Transylvania.

A good shop with folkloric souvenirs from Transylvania.

Sinaia (România)

Click on the map for more details

Click on the map for more details

Sinaia is a town and a mountain resort in Romania. The town was named after Sinaia Monastery, around which it was built; the monastery in turn is named after the Biblical Mount Sinai.

King Carol I of Romania built his summer home, Peleş Castle, near the town.

Sinaia is about 60 km northwest of Ploieşti and 50 km south of Braşov, in a mountainous area on the Prahova River valley, just east of the Bucegi Mountains. The altitude varies between 767 m and 860 m.

The city is a popular destination for hiking and winter sports, especially downhill skiing. Among the tourist landmarks, the most important are Peleş Castle, Pelişor Castle, Sinaia Monastery, Sinaia Casino, Sinaia train station, and the Franz Joseph and Saint Anne Cliffs.

Sinaia was also the summer residence of the Romanian composer George Enescu, who stayed at the Luminiş villa.

Source: Wikipedia

The Sinaia Monastery was founded by Prince Mihai Cantacuzino in 1695 and named after the great Sinai Monastery on Mount Sinai. As of 2005 it is inhabited by 13 Christian Orthodox monks led by hegumen Macarie Bogus. It belongs to the archdiocese of Bucharest.

The Sinaia Monastery was founded by Prince Mihai Cantacuzino in 1695 and named after the great Sinai Monastery on Mount Sinai. As of 2005 it is inhabited by 13 Christian Orthodox monks led by hegumen Macarie Bogus. It belongs to the archdiocese of Bucharest.

The belltower

The belltower.

On the road to the Elevation 1400

On the road to the Elevation 1400.

Under the gondola lift

You are in Prahova Valley 🙂

Down you can see the city Sinaia

Below you can see the city Sinaia.

Elevation 1400

Elevation 1400.

Inside of Mioriţa Hut (1960 m)

Inside of Mioriţa Hut (1960 m).